Size Matters

Two days after I posted last month’s blog with photos of wildflowers, club member Clinton (not his real name) taught me how to change the setting on my camera to use the most megapixels in my images.  My point-and-shoot has 12.1 megapixels and now the camera is set to use all of them.

A yellow ranunculus from my bouquet of birthday flowers.

Ranunculus, from the bouquet of my birthday flowers. Image used in April’s Photo Share. April 2015

I couldn’t wait to get up to Yosemite and photograph the dogwoods with the new camera setting.  Each spring Chris and I head to the park to see the blooms and have pizza at Curry Village.  This spring we were a little early and found only a handful of trees in bloom.

A yellow dogwood in Yosemite Valley.

A yellow dogwood in Yosemite Valley. March 2015

I’m not sure if increasing the photo size on my camera did anything for viewing images on a computer.  It did nothing to stop my shaking hand so I either need a tripod or software that will sharpen close ups to get the best detail…or both.

2

White dogwoods, like snow, in Yosemite Valley. March 2015

However, the images I submitted for April’s Photo Share held up in size to the others (size matters) much better than last month’s cropping mishap.

Bloom from a historic apple tree at Curry Village parking lot.

Bloom from a historic apple tree at Curry Village parking lot. March 2015.

I learned so much during April’s meeting and will share that in the next post.

 

3 thoughts on “Size Matters

  1. I love seeing your photos and reading your comments. The photos in this blog look pretty good to me. I Can’t imagine how you could make them look any better.
    Dad

    Like

Leave a Reply

