Getting Caught Up

December 18, 2015

It has been seven months since my last post at Raven in Focus.  Photographically speaking, here’s what I’ve been up to:

In June the monthly assignment of the Mariposa Photo Club was to use backlighting. It sounds easy, but was harder than I expected.  I used the sun as backlight for my subjects.  Come to find out, it would have been best to do this around sunset, the Golden Hour.

SHmpc1SHmpc4

July’s assignment was to photograph our interpretation of the drought.  The declining water level was clear to see in the river and lake.

SHmpc3

The Merced River at Bagby Recreation Area.

SHmpc5

Tioga Lake

Our assignment for August was before-and-after photographs.  Here’s the story:  The ladies in my family got together to make favors for the wedding of my daughter, Julia.  We started with 100 empty glass jars, filled them with honey, then decorated them.

SHmpc6
The result was darling customized honey jar wedding favors.

SHmpc7

Love is Sweet    Julia & Mason    October 17, 2015

For September we could submit a photograph of anything.  I chose a shot of my husband playing with bubbles at Columbia State Historic Park during Diggins Days.

SHmpc2

The old-fashioned way of making bubbles.

October’s assignment was to photograph fall colors.  The club went on an overnight fieldtrip to the eastern Sierra, but I did not attend.  My interpretation of fall colors came from pumpkins.

Fall MPC

The pumpkin patch at Vista Ranch & Cellars.

Our assignment for November was portraits of either people or animals.  I chose to photograph our dogs.

SHpet1

Ginger

SHpet2

Pepper

I didn’t make it to the club’s Christmas party, and haven’t yet completed December’s assignment: winter or holidays.  I will post an update after the first of the year.  For now, we are all caught up.  This will be the last post at Raven in Focus for 2015.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you all!
Thanks for reading Raven in Focus.

2 thoughts on “Getting Caught Up

Leave a Reply

